Skip to Content

Suspicious emails – what to look out for

Categories: Maximising your Rightmove membership


Suspicious emails – what to look out for

  

Don’t let fraudsters in by giving away your Rightmove Plus log-in details.

The only time Rightmove will email you asking you to log in to Rightmove Plus is when you try to access Rightmove Plus for the first time, or from a new browser. This is to check it’s really you trying to gain access.

Be suspicious of any other emails asking you to log into Rightmove Plus. We recommend that you always log in to Rightmove Plus via the link in the footer of the Rightmove’s home page.

 

What to look out for in emails

Check the sender’s email address.

  • Hover over the sender address. Do you recognise it as a genuine Rightmove email? Genuine Rightmove Plus verification emails are sent from autoresponder@rightmove.com. Although this is a good starting point, more sophisticated scams might also “spoof” the genuine address – so bear in mind the points below too.

Watch out for unusual URLs.

  • Fake links often look very similar to the real thing but could include unusual characters that try and closely mimic real addresses, e.g. R1ghtmove with a number 1 instead of the “i”.

What’s the sender asking you to do?

Be wary of:

  • “Applicants” asking you to log in to Rightmove Plus to look at a specific property. A genuine home mover would never direct you to Rightmove Plus.
  • “Applicants” asking you to click on a link to view their “property requirements” or similar.

 

What to do if you receive a suspicious email

  • Don’t click on any links.
  • Let us know at fraud@rightmove.co.uk.
  • Save the email and send us a copy as an attachment (rather than forwarding it over), to help with our investigations.

Here’s how to send us the email as an attachment in Outlook (2013 and 2010):

  • Select “Attach Item” from the toolbar
  • Select “Outlook Item”
  • Browse to the message you want to send and select it to attach it.

Please Google how to do this if you don’t use Outlook for your emails.

Sharing this information with us helps us investigate and block potentially fraudulent activity as quickly as possible.

 

What to do if you’ve clicked on a suspicious link or attachment

  • Consult an IT professional to run a full virus check on your computer, to check for malware.
  • Do not enter any log in details onto websites that look like Rightmove Plus or other popular websites. Always log in to Rightmove Plus via the link in the footer of the Rightmove home page if you’re unsure.
  • Let us know straight away at fraud@rightmove.co.uk if you think you’ve given away your log in credentials.
  • Do not respond to emails from suspected fraudsters. Instead send us a copy of their emails as an attachment, following the guidance above.